

Fondazione Internazionale Balzan "Premio"

As Chairman of the General Prize Committee of the International Balzan Foundation "Prize" and on behalf of my colleagues on the Committee, I have the honour of inviting you to submit the names of candidates for the

2019 Balzan Prizes

which will be awarded in the following subjects:

Film Studies Islamic Studies

Pathophysiology of Respiration: From Basic Sciences to the Bedside Theory of Partial Differential Equations

Each of the four Balzan Prizes is worth 750,000 Swiss francs.

Half the Prize sum will be awarded to the Prizewinner in recognition of his/her work, while the other half will later be earmarked by the Prizewinner for research projects involving young researchers or research groups. The research proposal will be subject to the approval of the General Prize Committee.

Careful consideration will be given to all nominations.

The Balzan General Prize Committee will treat your nomination, which must be signed by the nominator, in the strictest confidentiality and in compliance with existing legislation on the processing of personal data, and expects that you will similarly respect the secrecy it entails.

February 2019

Luian Maia

Luciano Maiani

Chairman; Professor Emeritus of Theoretical Physics at the University of Rome "La Sapienza"; Fellow of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Rome, and of the American Physical Society

SALWA EL-SHAWAN CASTELO-BRANCO

Professor of Ethnomusicology, Director of the Instituto de Etnomusicologia - Centro de Estudos em Música e Dança, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal, and President of the International Council for Traditional Music

SIERD A.P.L. CLOETINGH

Distinguished Utrecht University Professor; President of the Academia Europaea; President of the COST (European Cooperation in Science & Technology) Association; former Vice-President of the European Research Council; member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters, the German Academy of Technical Sciences and honorary member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences

DONATELLA DELLA PORTA

Professor of Political Science, Dean of the Department of Political and Social Sciences and Director of the Centre of Social Movement Studies at the Scuola Normale Superiore in Florence

BØRGE DIDERICHSEN

Former Vice President, Novo Nordisk, Denmark; Chairman of the International Advisory Board of VIB (Flemish Institute of Biotechnology) in Ghent, Belgium

ÉTIENNE GHYS

Research Director at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, Pure and Applied Mathematics Unit, École Normale Supérieure de Lyon; Member of the Académie des sciences, Institut de France, Paris

ANDREA GIARDINA

Professor of Roman History at the Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa; President of the International Committee of Historical Sciences; Fellow of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Rome

H. CHARLES J. GODFRAY

Professor of Population Biology at the University of Oxford, Director of the Oxford Martin School and Fellow of Jesus College; Fellow of the Royal Society

BENGT GUSTAFSSON

Professor Emeritus of Theoretical Astrophysics at the University of Uppsala; Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters, and the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters

NATHALIE HEINICH

Research Director in sociology at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), Paris; Member of the Centre de Recherches sur les Arts et le Langage (CRAL) at the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (EHESS), Paris

JULES A. HOFFMANN

Distinguished Class Research Director at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (Emeritus), Institute of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Strasbourg; Professor at the University of Strasbourg; former President of the Académie des sciences, Institut de France, Paris; Member of the Académie française; 2011 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine

PETER KUON

Professor of Romance Philology at the University of Salzburg, Austria

THOMAS MAISSEN

Director of the German Historical Institute in Paris; Chair in Early Modern History at the University of Heidelberg; Member of the Heidelberger Academy of Sciences and Humanities

ERWIN NEHER

Director Emeritus, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen; Member of the Academia Europaea; Foreign Associate of the US National Academy of Sciences and of the Royal Society, London; 1991 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine

ANTONIO PADOA SCHIOPPA

Professor Emeritus of Legal History at the State University of Milan; former President of the Istituto Lombardo, Academy of Sciences and the Humanities, Milan; Foreign Fellow of the Académie des inscriptions et belles-lettres, Institut de France, Paris

MARJAN SCHWEGMAN

Professor Emeritus of Political and Cultural History of the Twentieth Century, Utrecht University; former Director of the Royal Netherlands Institute in Rome

QUENTIN SKINNER

Barber Beaumont Professor of the Humanities, Queen Mary, University of London; Fellow of the British Academy and of the Academia Europaea; Foreign Fellow of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Rome

VICTOR STOICHITA

Chair of Modern Art History at the University of Fribourg, Switzerland; Foreign Fellow of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Rome

PETER SUTER

Honorary Professor of Medicine at the University of Geneva; former President of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences

CARLO WYSS

Former Director for Accelerators at CERN. Expert in the design of superconducting acceleration cavities and magnets for series manufacture by industry